Soshiku

[tweetmeme source=”travisthetrout” only_single=false]

Another “school tool” for organising classes, taking notes etc can be found at Soshiku.

Having used a range of “back to school” notebooks/organisers and simply high school stuff, this was brought to my attention rather late. Nevertheless perfectly timed for me starting my Criminal Litigation module for which I shall use soshiku.


Sign up for it is simple and free, put in a few details and away you go. On first glance its kind of what I expected, although will need to see if I can do something about the colour-scheme.

The Basic Set-up

Appears to be no way to change the clashing colour scheme on the home page – maybe I’ll find it one day. But sore eyes aside the concept ain’t too bad – projects can be private or public and you can add people for collaboration purposes if you wish. I don’t need to do that here.

You can have all your courses and then within the courses you add assignments. Within assignments you can have task lists and attach any necessary files. (In addition if using the “partners” feature can have discussions, although I’m not using this). There is also space to fill in notes.

For me the most useful feature is the attachment of notes, as I can type up my notes and attach them to the assignment to help keep the organised. The notes feature I’ll just type in any old thing I need to remember. helpful. But there are other organisers which do this just as well, but I shall persevere.

The To-Do List

Simple to-do list, type in what you want in the “what to do?” box (if using “partners” can delegate to someone else) and then just click the add task button. No different from any other to do list really.
However, some minor problems:

  • it is quite sensitive and if i hit the enter key too hard or twice in my impatience with the internet the task will come up twice (as above).
  • there doesn’t appear to be a way of the deleting or editing the task if you, for example, make a typo.
  • The only way I can see of deleting the task is to “tick” it and then click the little red symbol to delete it – which is a bit of a pain.
  • Can’t do separate due dates for tasks within the assignment
  • when you hit complete on the assignment, it doesn’t automatically complete all the tasks, and they will still appear on the main task list on the home page.

Some of these are minor annoyances, and I appreciate that I’m never going to find the perfect online organiser, but will continue to look for ways round this.

Join the Discussion

